The Heritage Smiths Falls logo was designed and created by Arnel Pattemore, a committed citizen in Smiths Falls and a founding member of the Municipal Heritage Committee, the Smiths Falls Historical Society, and Heritage House Museum.
The logo represents three key classes of windows and buildings in the Town: Churches, Public Institutions, and Private Properties.
The window on the left is located at Trinity United Church. The Church was constructed in 1885, with an addition in 1895 to double the size accommodating a larger congregation. The red brick multi-tower church was constructed in the Romanesque Revival style with a unique irregular interior floor plan.
The central window can be found at the Smiths Falls Waterworks Building, a heritage designated building. The water treatment plant was originally constructed as a flour mill (the stone building) in 1854 and later saw the addition of a pumping station (the 3-storey brick building) in 1886 by Captain Adam Foster. The Town acquired the property in 1910 and added filter plants in 1924 and 1952 for the purpose of treating municipal water, as well as generating hydroelectricity.
The window on the far left is representative of the former Union Bank building. The building was constructed in 1886 completing a continuous row of merchants along the streetscape. The building’s upper storey rounded window is one of the few remaining windows of its kind in Town. While not unique at the time of construction (similar windows were also found on the Justus Block), this particular example is the only intact window in existence today.